President’s Bursary Awards 2012

RESEARCH OPPORTUNITIES at IT Sligo – the 2012 President’s Bursary Awards

IT Sligo is awarding a number of research bursaries which will provide successful candidates with an annual stipend of €7,250 and a waiver of tuition fees for up to three years. Students are required to pay their registration fee. Applications are invited for post-graduate research positions working on the following projects:

Ref Project Title Supervisor (s)
1 A modelling strategy for customisation of drug-eluting polymeric medical devices Dr. Marion McAfee
2 Molecular ecology of sand-dwelling dinoflagellates in northwest Ireland Dr. Nicolas Touzet
3 Medical Imaging, Mathematics and Bone Repair Dr. Leo Creedon
4 Investigation of the occurrence of pharmaceutical and personal care products (PPCP) in sludge and wastewater samples using chromatographic separation techniques and mass spectrometry detection. Dr. Fiona McArdle
5 The characterisation and classification of archaeological glass samples using multi-elemental analysis Dr. Fiona Beglane
6 Analysis of Iodine in biological fluids following dermal exposure to seaweed. Dr. Aodhmar CadoganGeraldine Duignan
7 Processing of Bioresorbable Polymers for Drug-eluting Medical Devices Dr. Marion McAfee
8 Biofuel-directed Phycoremediation of air emissions and wastewaters Dr. Nicolas TouzetSteve Tonry
9 Mathematical Modelling of Bone Fracture Dr. Leo Creedon

For information on the various awards please click on the project title for an overview of the project.

For further information on these projects, contact the Research Office at:

Terms and Conditions of the Presidents Awards please click on this link. Terms and conditions

Institute of Technology, Sligo is an equal opportunities employer.

To Apply for a Presidents Bursary Award send a letter of Application and a detailed Curriculum Vitae (including your subject choice/results).

Dr John Bartlett
Head of Research
Institute of Technology, Sligo
Ash Lane
2019/20 Fulltime Prospectus IT Sligo